Leadership in action

The driving force for continued growth

Meet the Board of Directors for the Foundation

The Master Gardener Foundation of Spokane County Board of Directors plays a crucial role in fulfilling the organization’s mission and ensuring its operational and legal accountability. The Board sets an annual fundraising goal. Through their active involvement and regular review of fundraising strategies, the Board contributes to the organization’s growth and success. Its members are engaged, inspired, and knowledgeable about how to contribute effectively and committed to helping build a road to the future.

The Foundation Board facilitates the exchange of ideas and information with WSU Extension and serves as advisor to the Spokane County Program Coordinator. The Board interacts with WSU Extension and reviews and approves the Memorandum of Agreement with Washington State University Extension on a regular basis to maintain a clear understanding of all roles and responsibilities to ensure the growth and success of the Master Gardener program in Spokane County.

Lilypads floating in dark still water

Board of Directors members are elected by the foundation membership to serve three-year terms, but not more than two consecutive terms. The Board of Directors manages the affairs of the foundation on behalf of its membership. Their main duties are to accept contributions and administer those funds.

Master Gardeners are encouraged, but not required, to join MGFSC. Foundation members are Spokane County Master Gardeners who hold a variety of leadership roles and are all passionate about gardening. The general public can also join the foundation as Friends of the MG Foundation. All foundation members are welcome and encouraged to attend board meetings.

Meetings of the Board of Directors are regularly scheduled for the second Wednesday of the month.


Matt Velasco

  • Master Gardener Class of 2014
  • Joined the Board in 2016
Cathi Lamoreux.

Vice President

Janet Purath

  • Master Gardener Class of 2014
  • Joined the Board in 2023


Heather Delanoy

  • Master Gardener Class of 2022
  • Joined the Board in 2023


Bruce Dentler

  • Class of 2015
  • Joined the Board in 2023

Board Members

Darcey Byrne

Lauren Davis

Scarlet Francis

Julie Graver

Sue Griner

Julie McElroy

Cecilia McGowan

Dennis McGuire

Theresa Martin

Gale Snyder

Tim Stiess

Standing Committees and Leadership Teams:

Standing Committee of the foundation are appointed by the Board for an indefinite time. Special Committees are appointed for a specific task with a specified time to completion.

The Foundation Standing Committees are Communication, Educational Grant, Finance, Fundraising, Membership, Program Liaison and Policy & Bylaws.

How to Get Involved with Foundation Leadership

Committee Membership: Foundation Master Gardener members do not have to be a member of the Board to serve on committees. If you are looking for a way to volunteer and contribute to the foundation and one of these committees matches your experience, expertise, or interests, please contact the foundation president, president@spokane.mastergardenerfoundation.org.